Skip to content

June 24th Video Update – Activision CEO, Chinatown Wars PSP, and Capcom

June 24, 2009

Enjoy!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Celes Leonhart permalink
    June 24, 2009 6:41 pm

    Hey guys!

    Thanks for the shoutout, really appreciate that! Hopefully all my comments are helping and furthering your work in some way, or if they’re just appreciated (which they seemingly are) then that’s still a success.

    Seeing as I was saving my real feedback of the blogs for today, it’s dawned on me that I’m don’t really have much to say regarding them, I’m afraid. In terms of what I do: I’m definitely enjoying them. You’re both great speakers, charismatic and the like, and there are never points at which I just drop off; I’m entertained the whole way through.

    One thing that has just come to me though, I really quite like the comments on Big Man’s gaming goals. With that in mind, maybe a more extended, personalised portion of the video can be spent more on what you’re up to, games you’re playing, things you’re enjoying, what you’re looking forward to and that sort of thinking.

    Funnily enough, I had pretty much the exact same ambition for these holidays, except VI following Legend of Dragoon if I still had the spare time, and maybe skipping VII depending on time considering the amount of times I’ve completed it already. This is, if I bother at all. Good luck with completing them all, Final Fantasy VII’s always been my favourite so I’d say to focus on that. If you need any help, the forum on Neoseeker is a pretty active place, and of which I’m a regular, so feel free to drop by (I can’t say the same for the rest of the titles.) If you’re a fan of those three especially, I’d recommend trying out Legend of Dragoon too if you haven’t; it and Shadow Hearts are my other favourite games.

    On the topic of Legend of Dragoon, baring in mind the rarity of the PAL version of this game (sells for up to £80, which used to be $160), I took it into my local Gamestation (the sort of, second-hand retailer competing with the really big game retailer) to have several discs buffered. It went and snapped my fourth disc in half. The pain was unbearable. Luckily (by the stroke of God it seems) I found a fourth disc, all by its lone self, on Ebay for £10. Someone’s looking out for me, haha. If I remember rightly you guys can get it MUCH cheaper than that price, so I’d definitely recommend it if you haven’t played it already.

    Also, it seems you missed out on this news by maybe a few hours, seeing as it’s pretty important:
    http://www.computerandvideogames.com/article.php?id=218209
    Don’t know whether you want to save it for the next video or what.

    Looking forward to the new columns and (hopefully) the new writer, you guys are thriving, haha.

    Good work, keep it up and all those fun farewells.

  2. Garrett permalink*
    June 24, 2009 7:42 pm

    Legend of Dragoon is going to be my next ‘Gems of Gaming’ write up.

    • Celes Leonhart permalink
      June 24, 2009 8:03 pm

      I’m already excited.

    • namekj permalink
      June 25, 2009 6:33 am

      WOW, that brings me back!

  3. namekj permalink
    June 25, 2009 6:32 am

    GL on beating all those FFs! hell two months left in the summer I’m pretty sure you can do that!. I recently gave my self a goal a week ago also, It’s to beat as many 360 games I have missed out on and acouple new ones this summer. not a huge list about 20 game or so but my first week into it I have beaten 2 off my list and started on #3 woot!

    • Garrett permalink*
      June 25, 2009 12:26 pm

      John motherf’in Deeds! Good to see you on the blog. What games are on your list? I think we all have a list this summer…it’s a bit daunting, but I’ll get through it 🙂

      • June 25, 2009 1:22 pm

        I actually don’t have a list; unfortunately, writing and work actually come before more games. I do need to keep current on my games though, seeing as I’m now a columnist. After Gems of Gaming and Allison playing it, I have been playing Earthbound with liberal use of the fast forward button. Because of this, I’m just entering the Dungeon Man Tower at level 60-65 after only three days. I’m also trying to platinum inFamous eventually since I own the game. Other games this summer? Depends on what comes out really and, unlike The Big Man and Garrett, I don’t keep up with gaming news whatsoever. The most likely scenario? They’ll tell me when a new good game comes out, I’ll play it, and then I’ll write an article explaining the intellectual failings of it, heh… I love my job on this site.

      • June 25, 2009 1:32 pm

        I take that back; there is one game I want to replay. Okami! Oh yes, I miss the absolute beauty of that game. I haven’t felt anything like it since I transposed the piano version of “Fly Me to the Moon” on Little Big Planet.

      • Celes Leonhart permalink
        June 25, 2009 1:34 pm

        Brandon, finding all of the blast shards is a bitch. I recommend printing off a filled out map and just crossing them off as you go past them.Sneaky ones include: one that can’t be ‘pinged’ from the floor, on top of the massive tower at ground zero and two that are at the end of broken piers.

      • namekj permalink
        June 25, 2009 6:49 pm

        sadly my list is back at work but on top of my head, bioshock (which is next) both gears of wars, ninja gaiden2, DOA4, castle crashers, transformers 2. Right now I’m working on SSF2THDremix and crystal defenders. Also I’m realy looking forward to batman this aug.

      • namekj permalink
        June 25, 2009 6:51 pm

        also I know I have alrdy Beaten it before but Castlevania SOFN I’m thinking of picking up through arcade to play through again.

  4. June 25, 2009 1:27 pm

    On another note, Activision can do whatever they want, but really, as a company, I don’t really have any more respect left in me to give them. I mean really, they seem to be run by a man who thinks he’s an oil man straight out of There Will Be Blood. Rather than letting mining shafts collapse on gamers and treating their proverbial son Harmonix like it didn’t exist, maybe they should listen to the priest, which in this excessively stretched metaphor would be good common sense and decency.

Leave a Reply

