Skip to content

From a NeoSeeker Moderator – CelesLeonhart

June 16, 2009

This was a comment regarding our Final Fantasy VII article, which if you haven’t read, is on the main page:

“I had that post lined up initially, and then I decided to read the actual article rather than being a tool. I’m glad I did.

Up until “Final Fantasy VII and all of its abortions of “sequels” are all games you probably like (if not excessively dry hump and cosplay yearly), but shouldn’t”, everything the author had said was completely true. Every single bit. Even the following note that Final Fantasy VI was better is just as true, and Final Fantasy VII is my favourite game. I’m pretty sure that the author doesn’t actually believe that quote as apparent by the rest of the content, and it would be more appropriate if you removed the brackets and the words “like if not”, instead making it
“Final Fantasy VII and all of its abortions of “sequels” are all games you probably excessively dry hump and cosplay yearly, but shouldn’t”. I think that’s what he actually means, because that’s exactly how the rest of his opinion is conveyed.

Great article, excellently written. I’m now bookmarking that page, it was an absolute joy to read.

I think maybe you guys are doing like I almost did and not even bothering to read the article. His points consist of: Final Fantasy VII was great and should be a benchmark for modern games; the game is too often treated as the best game of all time and too many people pretend nothing will ever be as good – the pinnacle; Advent Children was good only for the point it was Final Fantasy VII related, otherwise it was good at best; Dirge of Cerberus was amateur; Squeenix are milking it because of the morons (me included) that will purchase anything with Final Fantasy VII in the title, and finally that VI is better. All of these are completely true.

I definitely think a lot of you guys are reading the article completely wrong, or with the same glasses you’ll wear when you go to buy Advent Children Complete, watch it again and think it’s the bomb, because he even admits the game is great.”

I cannot say anything other than “Thank You”. Please continue to join us as we create other columns and hopefully keep our audience entertained. Also, any games in particular you’d like us to talk about? Past or present? I appreciate your intelligence and ‘lack of toolness’ more than you know. Especially in a blog-stuffed internet culture like our own.

-Garrett

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Celes Leonhart permalink
    June 16, 2009 9:12 pm

    Hey guys, Celes Leonhart here. Will very much be sticking around, I mean, one of my first thoughts was how surprised I was (topic completely aside) at the quality of writing. So many sites have spawned all sporting controversial articles with little depth or actual honesty, and are usually pretty standard, for lack of a better word, in their writing. That article was pretty much entirely the opposite.

    I can’t say for sure any topics I’d like to see covered as you guys will likely have different opinions, but I’m pretty interested in the whole of the gaming world so I’ll still be keeping an eye out.

    Here’s some topics I find pretty interesting anyway, mainly attending to popular beliefs: Nintendo’s change in ethics and actual content delivered; Valve’s apparently strange behavior with Left 4 Dead 2; the continuation of the Call of Duty series, from both dev team’s perspectives, and Infinity Ward’s seeming arrogance regarding the IP; an interesting topic I read about in PC Gamer about multiplayer gaming ruining singleplayer gaming (made a thread on Neo summarising that article, can throw you a link if wanted) and finally the whole motion-sensor fad that’s dominating the market (and the ever-decreasing purpose of gaming as far as I’m concerned.) There’s some ideas I’ve thought up just now, so maybe a few other things might pop up at a later date. On a similar topic to yours, even further development on what Square is becoming (a.k.a not very good, and a bit hungry for cash.)

    For instance with the Call of Duty case, one thing I’ve done quite a lot of over the last year is defend Call of Duty: World at War. A lot of people claim it to be a carbon copy of Modern Warfare and there’s not enough difference or development to warrant it being a stand-alone title. I always defended Treyarch (on this title and this specific point alone) with the sake the game makes just about as much change as Infinity Ward made between Call of Duty 2 and 4, but that’s by no means a bad thing. That’s very specific though, haha.

    Hope you guys find something interesting to work with from those – I’ll look out for them! Also, my bad if they’re topics you’ve already covered; I am new afterall. Appreciate the fact you guys highlighted the post, thanks a lot!

  2. thebigmanandgarrett permalink*
    June 16, 2009 9:28 pm

    I am highly opinionated on L4D2 (anti-boycott, pro-game) and have been meaning to write an article about it, we talked about it briefly in one of our videos. As for the IW ego do you mean dropping the CoD name, and just going with Modern Warfare? I would love to see that link about multiplayer vs. singleplayer. I am not overly knowledgeable about motion-control, but I think it has clearly passed the fad stage at this point, at least to the degree that it will have a continuing lifespan and impact on games as a whole. I think until we have full VR that a controller will always be necesarry, and even then, since a lot of gamers don’t want to have to physically do the actions in the games, as a significant aspect of gaming is escapism. Why run around in 1:1 FPS when you could play paintball/laser tag etc? But I can talk about that far more in depth after i have conducted some more research. Thanks for the compliments, and not immediately dismissing us.
    Additionally, the blog as it is now, has only been around since shortly before this year’s E3 and as the title suggests consists of myself and Garrett, although we hope Brandon will keep writing his weekly column. Any tips and friendly criticism are highly appreciated.
    -The Big Man

    • Celes Leonhart permalink
      June 16, 2009 10:24 pm

      http://www.neoseeker.com/forums/54/t1369670-broadband-killing-single-player-gaming/ – there’s the thread I mentioned. Obviously all credit to PC Gamer for the points. I tried finding it online but I either over-looked it or they didn’t write it up, so I can’t throw up the whole thing without scanning it. Hope that gives you a clear idea of where they were heading. I’m not sure if there’s any real value that could be extended from the concept, but I found it pretty interesting nonetheless, haha.

      In regards to the Infinity Ward ego, I am directly noting the name change. As well as that, there’s also the odd occasion (I have one in memory) where Infinity Ward have appeared strangely aggressive and derogatory, like when WoW’s publicity agent (or something) wrongly stated that bolt-action guns took several shots to kill in Infinity Ward titles. Sure, a completely wrong and stupid point to make, but the response (on someone’s blog – forgotten who) was almost like they saw Treyarch as this annoying tag-along child.

      Fad was most likely poor choice of wording on my behalf; I meant more the point that there was a sudden emergence of it as a priority. My stance comes from when you look to the likes of the trailer for Microsoft’s Natal and you see a one vs one sparring fight, or even just look at the likes of Wii Sports. Not only do I not want to go to so much effort for the sake of relaxing and entertainment, but where’s the advantage over just taking up a real martial art or going to play tennis with a friend? It just seems completely pointless in most cases, and as you covered, removes the point of escapism – games’ real lure. I understand the point that some of the games work for quick, accessible, casual goodness, but the only real part of that game that had any recurring play to me is the boxing, and that’s an obvious one – no one really wants to be pummelled by their best mate, but it’s fun to see who does win anyway.

      Completely separate but probably worth mentioning: Have you guys heard of the Neoseeker sister-site GameGrep? If not, it’s a place where lots of gaming news is posted, a hub for every other blog or gaming-based site. It might be a useful place for you guys to post up links to your pieces, it gets the original source a fair bit of attention if it’s a popular topic.

      Will intend to make some tips and criticism as they come to me, but as far as that one piece alone stands, I’ve got nothing. Going to go look into some more stuff now. Thanks again.

  3. thebigmanandgarrett permalink*
    June 17, 2009 12:42 am

    Thanks for the tip! I submitted my Prototype review, and the FFVII bit on GameGrep if you would be so kind as to approve them.
    -The Big Man

  4. Masonvrocks permalink
    June 17, 2009 2:16 am

    Hey guys, still loving the website, I agree with Celes, alot better written than most blogs.
    Mind if I ask which one of you is Jolan on Kotaku? 😛

  5. thebigmanandgarrett permalink*
    June 17, 2009 2:26 am

    That would be me.
    -The Big Man

  6. Daveo619 permalink
    June 17, 2009 2:22 pm

    Why don’t you post some of the other comments you got from the FFVII forum that you posted this in?

    • thebigmanandgarrett permalink*
      June 17, 2009 2:42 pm

      A majority of them were trolling/dismissive comments by people who either failed to read, or failed to understand the article, and its tone.

      -The Big Man

      • Daveo619 permalink
        June 17, 2009 3:01 pm

        They weren’t trolling, they’re just sick and tired of people telling them not to like FFVII, most people recieve a lot of hate already because they still like it.

      • thebigmanandgarrett permalink*
        June 17, 2009 3:16 pm

        As I have said I think the title is misleading, and anyone who read the article will realize its is about the worship and overzealous following of the game, and that the game itself is great, just not the perfect pinnacle of gaming that so many seem to claim it is. I am in talks with Garrett and Brandon about changing the title to something more clear, as I can understand how without reading the article you would assume the worst. -The Big Man

    • thebigmanandgarrett permalink*
      June 17, 2009 2:45 pm

      This comment stood out to me and of course, was positive. Also, I haven’t been on the NeoSeeker forums today. I’ll check later. One of the main goals of this blog is to connect to our readers in a personal way.

      -Garrett

    • Celes Leonhart permalink
      June 17, 2009 7:32 pm

      Dave, you’ve missed the point of the article or haven’t read it, apparently the same as most people. It’s not actually about not liking the game (as my post right here states).

      And as it goes guys, I’m not sure if you really should change the name: bigger sites wouldn’t get this shit or would simply dismiss it, and as far as I’m concerned, it’s definitely a professional-sounding title for a regular column. I’d say as long as you stick to games that deserve the title (like Fallout 3, every other FPS ever, and so on) then I think it’s worth keeping.

      • Daveo619 permalink
        June 17, 2009 7:56 pm

        I’ve missed nothing, I read the whole thing. I also don’t much care for people telling what I should and shouldn’t like, it’s a matter of opinion, some people liked the sequels and prequels for nostalgia and others liked them for what they were, it’s different for everyone. If they want to be taken seriously, they should change the title because with the current title, they come off sounding like they think they’re in charge of what people should think.

      • Celes Leonhart permalink
        June 17, 2009 8:22 pm

        You say you’ve missed nothing but then say they shouldn’t tell people what to like and that they are judging people for liking the titles. You obviously have missed the point that them telling people what to like ISN’T the point and is only a sign-off line related to the title; reading the article (and all of their replies) you can see that’s not what they mean quite easily, and it’s more a comment on ridiculous, over-the-top behaviour, not opinion, that has caused Final Fantasy VII to be placed on a god-like pedestal and has allowed Square-Enix to produce average games to huge success, dampening their quality and output. You’ve also totally missed that it was a joke, a humour based article.

        As a point, mentioning the views of other Neoseeker members (most who didn’t bother reading it or clearly didn’t understand it anyway), here’s one, from GameGrep:

        “I was going rant a bit about why FFVII does deserve alot of it’s praise. But the author is right. FFVII was a damn fine game, but Squeenix has been whoring the crap outta it with squels/prequels that range from being good to downright terrible, and fanboys lap it up as though anything with “FFVII” tacked on the box is pure gold.”

        Exactly the same thing I said in my post, and who’s it by? Gothic Girl, moderator of the Final Fantasy VII forum for four years if I remember right.

        PS: Ignore me if where I place my replies is off, not used to this system yet.

        This article is NOT an attack or judgement on people’s opinions and likes, nor is it forceful in it’s suggestion; it is merely a comment on behaviour and the consequences of that behaviour.

      • Celes Leonhart permalink
        June 17, 2009 8:25 pm

        Also ignore the random accidental placement of my “PS” as well as the grammar mistakes, haha.

  7. Brandon permalink
    June 20, 2009 3:39 am

    Now that I’m on here, I feel like I’ll give a brief teaser response to some of these comments. As of right now, the column’s name is not changing unless the TBMAG group can think of something as professional, amusing, and straight forward. As many have quickly noticed, I’m a sarcastic individual with few qualms about saying things people won’t necessarily like hearing about games that I generally enjoy playing.

Leave a Reply

